utah concealed FIREARM PERMIT classes

THE COMPLETE CLASS: Don't waste your time running around trying to get your fingerprints and passport photo, after sitting thru a 4 hour class. We do it all in one night AND we mail your completed packet in for you. No running around and no forgetting to mail it in. Snacks and water bottles are provided during the class!


Come to our fun, informative and personalize class. This is the only class you need to qualify for a Utah Concealed Firearm Permit, which will allow you to carry in over 30 states. This class is taught by BCI Certified Concealed Firearms Instructors and NRA Certified Pistol Instructors. We walk you thru the entire process. We help you will complete everything you need; fingerprints, photo, class syllabus, and stamped application.

Cost of the class:$50  (-$5 OFF for every friend you bring)

   --> We have a deal for married couples: $75 for the class!

   --> Discounts for Military, First Responders, Educators, Single Moms & Full Time Students!
What is included: Required classroom instruction, class syllabus, fingerprints, photo, & stamped application.

State Fees: Utah Resident: $53.25  or  Non Resident: $63.25

What do I need to bring: Your Utah issued Drivers License, the Class Fee and the State Fee.

Class topics include:
* The safe handling, loading, unloading, and storage of firearms to be concealed
* Current laws defining lawful self defense, use of force including the use of deadly force.
* Firearm operation and selection
* Firearm cartridges and components
* Ammunition malfunctions and resolutions
* Maintenance and cleaning
* Holster selection / Concealment techniques
* Q & A

HOW DO I SIGN UP:   You can sign up with your email or on our FB Events.  Click on the classes tab above.

You can attend one of our monthly classes OR we can come to you!

We would love to put a class together for your family or your friends or your club!

If you are willing to host a concealed firearm course and draw 10 or more people to the class, then the course will be free for the host. You will still need to pay the State Fee. If a host is able to draw 20 or more people to the course, the course is free and the Mellor Tactical will pay for the hosts State Fee. All other students will still need to pay for the course and their application fees. You can host at our location or yours! We also offer discounts to clubs or organizations. Shoot us a message!

Mellor Tactical Alumni are always welcome to attend our classes whenever they feel they need a refresher, free of charge!

Current CFP holders can attend a class as a refresher, free of charge.


1) Under federal law you would still need a permit to carry in a school zone. It is a felony to carry within 1,000 feet of a school zone.
2) The Utah CFP is recognized by 37 other states that you can carry in with the Utah permit.
3) It waives the background check fee when purchasing firearms and usually is a real time saver.
4) You are required to know and follow the laws regarding where you can lawfully carry and the use of deadly force. The CFP class is a great resource to knowing and understanding these important laws.
5) Law enforcement support the CFP program and when they are dealing with someone with a loaded gun that CFP quickly lets them know what they are dealing with: Someone that passed the background check and has some knowledge of the laws.
6) Those without a CFP may not possess a loaded rifle, shotgun or muzzle-loader in a vehicle. But you can with a valid Utah CFP.
7) With the Utah Provisional CFP, 18 to 21 year olds can carry a loaded firearm. The only difference is with the provisional you cannot carry in a school zone.
8) We believe the information in the class is a great value. We cover safe handling, loading, unloading, and storage of firearms to be concealed, current laws defining lawful self defense, use of force including the use of deadly force, Firearm operation and firearm selection, Firearm cartridges and components, Ammunition malfunctions and resolutions, Maintenance and cleaning, Holster selection, Concealment techniques and considerations, Review of tactical and self defense scenarios and a Q & A session.
9) With a Utah CFP you can carry on buses and trains owned by UTA, without the permit it makes it a felony hidden in 76-10-1500

WANT THE CLASS INFO, BUT NOT THE PERMIT:  You can attend the class for $25 and get all of the information and class materials.  You wont need the application, finger prints or photo. Just come and learn.

We also offer the following courses:


New to handguns? Take the NRA Basic Pistol Shooting Class.  This is a great starting place and a wonderful introduction to handguns. Covers everything you need to know to get a good start in shooting. Covers safety, cleaning, gun selection, storage, marksmanship fundamentals, holsters and live shooting.

NRA Defensive Pistol Course:

This course will focus on the techniques needed to develop a defensive mindset. The goal of this course is to develop the knowledge, skills, and attitude necessary to carry and use a concealed pistol ethically, responsibly and with confidence.

NRA Refuse To Be A Victim Seminar:

These sought-after seminars will teach participants how to improve your personal safety strategies, and what techniques and tactics can be used to help avoid becoming an easy victims of crime. In general, this seminar will heighten your public awareness of what you can and should be do to stay safe. 


Let Mellor Tactical custom fit a training plan that fits your goals and your wallet. We can personalize a one on one course or a course for you and your friends.  Let us know what your goals are and we will tailor a course just for you. Instruction includes safety and familiarization module, then moves into dry firing drills to hone your skills and then move onto a live range to prove your skills.